North Carolina Coronavirus Grants Awarded to 34 Communities

North Carolina Coronavirus Grants Awarded to 34 Communities

$26.8 million in aid to rural North Carolina in COVID-19 response

Raleigh, NC (STL.News) Nearly $27 million in grants has been awarded to 34 municipal and county governments in North Carolina in response to the adverse economic and public health impacts of COVID-19, Governor Roy Cooper announced today.

The federal funds are being distributed through the Community Development Block Grant Coronavirus (CDBG-CV) program to assist local governments with subsistence payments to prevent evictions and utility disconnections in their communities.

In addition to public utilities and rent assistance, the funds will also provide public facilities support with broadband, communications, and the rehabilitation of buildings as well as financial assistance to small businesses with fewer than 100 employees and micro-enterprises with no more than five employees.

“Our communities need help in recovering from the pandemic and these funds will help with some of their immediate needs,” said Governor Cooper.

Funded through the federal CARES Act by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), the North Carolina CDBG-CV grantees include:

  • Ashe County
  • Asheboro
  • Beulaville
  • Buncombe County
  • Carrboro
  • Conover
  • Eden
  • Elizabeth City
  • Fremont
  • Four Oaks
  • Graham County
  • Granite Falls
  • Haywood County
  • Hillsborough
  • Johnston County
  • Jonesville
  • Kinston
  • Maiden
  • Martin County
  • Nash County
  • Newton
  • Orange County
  • Oxford
  • Pitt County
  • Reidsville
  • Richmond County
  • Rockingham County
  • Rutherford County
  • Shelby
  • Tyrell County
  • Watauga County
  • Wilson County
  • Wilson City
  • Yancey County

“Supporting North Carolina’s smaller communities and businesses is critical for our state’s economic recovery,” said N.C.

Continue reading North Carolina Coronavirus Grants Awarded to 34 Communities at STL.News.