New Jersey Governor: Appointments to Puerto Rico Commission

TRENTON  NJ (STL.News) Governor Phil Murphy today announced 29 appointments to The New Jersey Puerto Rico Commission.  The Commission was established pursuant to a law that Governor Murphy approved in January 2020 to promote interconnectedness between Puerto Ricans living in New Jersey and on the island.  The Commission’s work will include supporting ongoing reconstruction efforts, exploring economic development opportunities, and promoting educational and cultural exchange between New Jersey and Puerto Rico. Senate President Steve Sweeney appointed Senator Nellie Pou and Senator Declan O’Scanlon to the Commission and Assembly President Craig Coughlin appointed Assemblymen Yvonne López and Nancy Munoz.

“New Jersey is home to many Puerto Ricans who have made countless contributions to the construction of our state,” said Governor Murphy. “We have a long friendly relationship with the government and people of Puerto Rico, and this Commission will help us improve it even more.  Peggy and Jose are the best leaders we could count on to lead this effort. ”

“I want to thank the governor and legislators for creating this great Commission that recognizes the more than 500,000 Puerto Ricans in the state, who constitute the third largest group of Puerto Ricans in the United States, ” said Peggy Anastos, co-chair. 

This News New Jersey Governor: Appointments to Puerto Rico Commission appeared first on STL.News.